Dr. Bathini Nagendra Babu

Dr. Bathini Nagendra Babu, has completed B.Sc and M.Sc from Osmania University, Hyderabad. He obtained PhD in synthetic organic chemistry from CSIR-IICT, Hyderabad (formal degree awarded by Osmania University) in 2006. Thereafter, he went abroad for Postdoctoral Studies at Uniformed Services University of Health Sciences, Bethasda, & collaboration with United States Department of Agriculture–Agriculture Research Services (USDA-ARS), Beltsville-MD, USA (2006 – 2009).  In 2009, he started independent research & teaching profession in medicinal/synthetic organic chemistry as Assistant Professor, then after promoted as Associate Professor at Department of Medicinal Chemistry, NIPER-Hyderabad. In 2016, he moved and continuing as senior Scientist at CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Technology-Hyderabad. Dr Babu, is having more than 19 years of research/teaching experience in reputed organizations and dwelt into multi-disciplinary research problems in Synthetic Orgnic Chemistry ranging from the development of synthetic methodologies to the synthesis of complex natural product / its analogues reflects a high order of conceptual originality and experimental excellence. Presently, focusing on Medicinal/synthetic organic chemistry as well as popularization of Pheromone Application Technology [PAT] as Eco-Friendly sustainable crop protection tool and also handling several Industrial/govt. sponsored projects. Since 2009, as independent researcher, he focused on synthesis of bioactive natural product/analogues, NCEs by using organo- metallics/ Metal free catalytic reaction//asymmetric synthesis/ and its biological evaluation against cancer, microbial, as well as depression. Dr. Babu has made prominent contributions in developing new synthetic methods in organic chemistry which are published seventy five articles in good Impact Journals and filed four patents. And also under his guidance eight PhD students and more than 60 master students awarded their degrees respectively.Dr. Babu is recipient of one of prestigious Award OPPI Young Scientist – 2012, Best Faculty Award - 2016, Director's Special Appreciation Award 2016-17 and CSIR-IICT Young Scientist Award 2019.